13525 446th Avenue Waubay, SD 57273 (605) 947-4605 (605) 947-4188 FAX www.esds.us



SUPERINTENDENT

Dr. Nadine Eastman

PRINCIPAL

Dr. Jeannine Metzger

BUSINESS MANAGER

Debra Rumpza

SCHOOL BOARD

CHAIRPERSON

Lisa Lauterhahn

VICE CHAIRPERSON

Evelyn Eagle

BOARD MEMBER

Skyman Redday

BOARD MEMBER

Lolita Seaboy

BOARD MEMBER

Miranda White

SWO COUNCIL REP

Dallas Owen

SWO EDUCATION

DIRECTORDr. Sherry Johnson

www.cognia.org



Regular School Board Meeting Minutes October 11, 2023

Members Present: Lisa Lauterhahn, Evelyn Eagle, Miranda White, Skyman Redday (5:02); Lolita Seaboy (5:05)

Others Present: Dr. Nadine Eastman, Dr. Jeannine Metzger, Debra Rumpza

Call to Order/Establish Quorum

Quorum was established and the meeting was called to order by Chairperson Lisa Lauterhahn at 5:00 pm.

Motion #1 by Skyman Redday to go into executive session for student hearing. Second. Motion Carried.

Motion #2 by Evelyn Eagle to come out of executive session. Second. Motion Carried.

II. School Community

- 1. Community
 - a. Concerns?
- 2. School
 - a. Enrollment No update
- 3. Personnel
 - a. Substitute: Sarita Eastman, Jeron Denny

Motion #3 by Skyman Redday to approve the substitute applications for Sarita Eastman and Jeron Denny pending successful background checks. Second. Motion Carried

b. Backgrounds

 5-year Renewal – Storm Aguirre, Xavier Aguirre, Janet Bartelt, Carolyn Soles

Background adjudication information was shared with the School Board.

III. Approval of Minutes

1. September 13, 2023

Motion #4 by Lolita Seaboy to approve the regular school board minutes from September 13, 2023 as presented. Second. Motion Carried.

IV. Financial Report

- 1. Food Service Report FYI
- 2. Financial Report and Approval of Vouchers

Motion #5 by Evelyn Eagle to approve the financial report and vouchers as presented. Second. Motion Carried.

13525 446th Avenue Waubay, SD 57273 (605) 947-4605 (605) 947-4188 FAX www.esds.us



SUPERINTENDENT

Dr. Nadine Eastman

PRINCIPAL

Dr. Jeannine Metzger

BUSINESS MANAGER

Debra Rumpza

SCHOOL BOARD

CHAIRPERSON

Lisa Lauterhahn

VICE CHAIRPERSON

Evelyn Eagle

BOARD MEMBER

Skyman Redday

BOARD MEMBER

Lolita Seaboy

BOARD MEMBER

Miranda White

SWO COUNCIL REP

Dallas Owen

SWO EDUCATION DIRECTOR

Dr. Sherry Johnson

www.cognia.org



Regular School Board Meeting Minutes October 11, 2023 Page 2

- 3. Discussion on Travel/Training No new requests
- 4. FEHB Increase

Motion #6 by Evelyn Eagle to set the school contribution for the single premium to \$690 for 2024, other family plans will be at the rate as set by FEHB. Second. Motion Carried.

- 5. Declare the greenhouse surplus and advertise for bids Motion #7 by Lolita Seaboy to declare the greenhouse surplus and advertise for bids. Second. Motion Carried.
 - 6. School Bus increase to \$82,036

Motion #8 by Skyman Redday to approve the price increase and purchase the mini bus without a trade. Second. Motion Carried.

V. Reports

- 1. Leadership: Dr. Nadine Eastman, Ms. Metzger, Deans
- 2. Tribal Education
- 3. School Improvement
- 4. Staff Reports

VI. Other Business

1. Continuity of Operations Plan (Coop Plan)

Motion #9 by Skyman Redday to approve the Continuity of Operations Plan as presented. Second. Motion Carried

VII. Adjournment

Chairperson Lisa Lauterhahn declared the regular school board meeting adjourned at 7:08 pm.

13525 446th Avenue Waubay, SD 57273 (605) 947-4605 (605) 947-4188 FAX www.esds.us



SUPERINTENDENT

Dr. Nadine Eastman

PRINCIPAL

Dr. Jeannine Metzger

BUSINESS MANAGER

Debra Rumpza

SCHOOL BOARD

CHAIRPERSON

Lisa Lauterhahn

VICE CHAIRPERSON

Evelyn Eagle

BOARD MEMBER

Skyman Redday

BOARD MEMBER

Lolita Seaboy

BOARD MEMBER

Miranda White

SWO COUNCIL REP

Dallas Owen

SWO EDUCATION DIRECTOR

Dr. Sherry Johnson

www.cognia.org



Re-Organizational School Board Meeting Minutes October 11, 2023 Page 3

Re-Organizational Meeting:

Call to Order – Dr. Nadine Eastman

~Dr. Nadine Eastman called the re-organizational meeting to order at 7:09 pm.

Oath of Office – Skyman Redday and Miranda White

Nominations for Chairperson of the Board:

- ~Dr. Nadine Eastman called for Board Chairperson Nominations.
- ~Miranda White nominated Evelyn Eagle. Skyman Redday nominated Lisa Lauterhahn. Hearing no other nominations, nominations ceased and ballots were cast.
- ~Lisa Lauterhahn was elected Chairperson by a 3-2 vote.

Meeting turned over to new Chairperson

~Dr. Eastman turned the meeting over to Chairperson Lisa Lauterhahn.

Nominations for Vice-Chairperson

- ~Miranda White nominated Evelyn Eagle. Hearing no other nominations:
- ~Motion #1 by Lolita Seaboy to cease nominations. Second. Motion Carried.

Appointment of the Recording Secretary

Appointment of the business depositories: Dacotah Bank, Edward Jones, Sisseton Wahpeton Federal Credit Union

~Motion #2 by Skyman Redday to appoint Debra Rumpza as the recording secretary and appoint Dacotah Bank, Edward Jones and SWFCU as the business depositories. Second. Motion Carried.

Set Sub Rates:

Instructional Staff: \$17.50/hr (non-certified); \$22.50/hr (certified)

Bus Driver: \$18.00 (no CDL) \$20.00 CDL

Facilities/Kitchen/Support Staff: \$15.00/hour

OST: \$13/hour

~Motion #3 by Evelyn Eagle to set the sub rates as stated. Second. Motion Carried.

13525 446th Avenue Waubay, SD 57273 (605) 947-4605 (605) 947-4188 FAX www.esds.us



SUPERINTENDENT

Dr. Nadine Eastman

PRINCIPAL

Dr. Jeannine Metzger

BUSINESS MANAGER

Debra Rumpza

SCHOOL BOARD

CHAIRPERSON

Lisa Lauterhahn

VICE CHAIRPERSON

Evelyn Eagle

BOARD MEMBER

Skyman Redday

BOARD MEMBER

Lolita Seaboy

BOARD MEMBER

Miranda White

SWO COUNCIL REP

Dallas Owen

SWO EDUCATION DIRECTOR

Dr. Sherry Johnson

www.cognia.org



Re-Organizational School Board Meeting Minutes October 11, 2023 Page 4

Set Board Stipends:

Regular Meeting: \$

Special Meetings: \$

~Motion #4 by Lolita Seaboy to set the Board Stipends for a regular meeting at \$200 and a special meeting at \$175. Second. Motion Carried

Set Training Stipends:

Staff: \$30/hour (less than 7 hours) \$210 7-8 hours

Board: \$30/hour (less than 7 hours) \$210 7-8 hours

Set Mileage Rate: \$.655/mile personal (no school vehicle available); \$0.22 personal vehicle when a school vehicle is available and you receive approval

Set Per Diem:

According to Federal Per Diem rate table for all travel

~Motion #5 by Skyman Redday to set the training stipends, mileage rate and per diem as stated. Second. Motion Carried.

Set Chain of Authority: Dr. Nadine Eastman, Jeannine Metzger, Debra Rumpza

~Motion #6 by Skyman Redday to set the Chain of Authority as Dr. Nadine Eastman, Jeannine Metzger and Debra Rumpza. Second. Motion Carried.

Holiday Staff Bonus' and Student gifts

~Motion #7 by Miranda White to approve the holiday staff incentives and student gifts similar to last year. Second. Motion Carried.

Adjournment

Chairperson Lisa Lauterhahn declared the meeting adjourned at 7:30 pm.