Enemy Swim Day

13525 446th Avenue Waubay, SD 57273 (605) 947-4605 (605) 947-4188 FAX www.esds.us



SUPERINTENDENT

Dr. Nadine Eastman

PRINCIPAL

Jeannine Metzger

PRINCIPAL

Mark Mindt

BUSINESS MANAGER

Debra Rumpza

SCHOOL BOARD

CHAIRPERSON

Evelyn Eagle

VICE CHAIRPERSON

Timothy Peters

BOARD MEMBER

Tasinagiwin Halbert

BOARD MEMBER

Merle Red Bear

BOARD MEMBER

Lolita Seaboy

SWO COUNCIL REP

Cheryl Owen

SWO EDUCATION DIRECTOR

Dr. Sherry Johnson



Regular School Board Meeting Minutes March 11, 2019

Members Present: Tasina Halbert, Timothy Peters, Evelyn Eagle, Lolita Seaboy, Merle Red Bear

Others Present: Dr. Nadine Eastman, Mark Mindt, Debra Rumpza

I. Call to Order/Establish Quorum

Quorum was established and the meeting was called to order by Chairperson Evelyn Eagle at 5:23 pm.

II. School Community

- 1. Community
 - a. Concerns?
- 2. Student

Motion #1 by Merle Red Bear to go into executive session. Second. Motion Carried.

Motion #2 by Lolita Seaboy to come out of executive session. Second. Motion Carried.

3. Personnel

a. OST/Substitute: - Brianna Seaboy, Mike Davies Motion #3 by Lolita Seaboy to approve the substitute applications from Brianna Seaboy and Mike Davies pending successful background checks. Second. Motion Carried.

b. Backgrounds

 i. New Employees – Storm Aguirre, Xavier Aguirre, Julia Flute Player,

Motion #4 by Tasina Halbert to adjudicate the backgrounds for Storm Aguirre, Xavier Aguirre and Julia Flute Player and declare them suitable for employment at Enemy Swim Day School. Second. Motion Carried.

c. Contract Renewals

- i. Teachers & Co-teachers
- ii. Counselor

Motion #5 by Timothy Peters to offer 2019-2020 employment contracts to Mary Ann Aker, Dawn Thuringer, Samantha Blum, Elizabeth Byer, Mackenzie Larson, Anneliese Braaten, Robin Cook, James Lauterhahn, Jessica Squirrel Coat, Colleen His Many Lightnings, Ricardo Bertsch, Connie Sauer, Rebekah Swanson, Jackie Schmidt, Jane Ryan, Diana Fish, Salina Pena, Demi Dumarce, Janet Harder, Theresa Mindt and Mary Beth Kirk. Second. Motion Carried.

We will be known forever by the tracks we leave.

Regular School Board Meeting Minutes March 11, 2019 Page 2

d. Bus Driver position

Motion #6 by Tasina Halbert to release Lita German from her 2018-2019 employment contract. Second. Motion Carried.

III. Approval of Minutes

1. February 13, 2019

Motion #7 by Merle Red Bear to approve the regular board meeting minutes from February 13, 2019. Second. Motion Carried.

IV. Financial Report

- 1. Food Service Report FYI
- 2. Training Approvals/List of Upcoming Training same as last month
- 3. Financial Report and Approval of Vouchers

Motion #8 by Lolita Seaboy to approve the financial report and vouchers as presented. Second. Motion Carried.

4. Activ Panel (FACE)

Motion #9 by Lolita Seaboy to approve the ActivPanel request and bid for FACE. Second. Motion Carried.

V. Reports

- 1. Tribal Education
- 2. Leadership: Dr. Nadine Eastman, Mr. Mindt, Ms. Metzger
- 3. School Improvement
- 4. Staff Reports

VI. Other Business

1. Make-up School Days

Motion #10 by Tasina Halbert to change 4/19/19 from a no school day, to a school day and 4/22/19 from a no school day, to a staff work day. Second. Motion Carried.

2. SD 21st Century, BIE 21st Century, BIE Afterschool program Motion #11 by Lolita Seaboy to approve the submission of the SD 21st CCLC grant, BIE 21st CCLC grant and BIE Summer Program application. Second. Motion Carried.

We will be known forever by the tracks we leave.

Enemy Swim Day

13525 446th Avenue Waubay, SD 57273 (605) 947-4605 (605) 947-4188 FAX www.esds.us



SUPERINTENDENT

Dr. Nadine Eastman

PRINCIPAL

Jeannine Metzger

PRINCIPAL

Mark Mindt

BUSINESS MANAGER

Debra Rumpza

SCHOOL BOARD

CHAIRPERSON

Evelyn Eagle

VICE CHAIRPERSON

Timothy Peters

BOARD MEMBER

Tasinagiwin Halbert

BOARD MEMBER

Merle Red Bear

BOARD MEMBER

Lolita Seaboy

SWO COUNCIL REP

Cheryl Owen

SWO EDUCATION DIRECTOR

Dr. Sherry Johnson



Regular School Board Meeting Minutes March 11, 2019 Page 3

3. Staff Awards

Motion #12 by Tasina Halbert to approve staff awards for Ed Johnson, Jim Strutz and Dawn Thuringer. Second. Motion Carried.

4. Transportation – FYI

VII. Adjournment

Chairperson Evelyn Eagle declared the meeting adjourned at 6:44 pm.

We will be known forever by the tracks we leave.